Aboriginal Community Owned & Managed

Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Tom Slockee, Director & Co-Chairperson

Tom has been an active and progressive leader in the Aboriginal and wider community for the past twenty or more years. Tom was an essential player in the formation of the new Aboriginal Housing Office (AHO) in NSW. He gave the leadership and direction to form the Budawang Aboriginal Corporation (BAC). The BAC owns and manages 45 Aboriginal community houses. He was a member of Board of the first Office of Community Housing and he formed and chaired SEARMS. Other involvements include:

• Chairperson Budawang Aboriginal Corporation

• Chairperson SEARMS

• Chairperson Murra Mia Tenants Advocacy and Advisory Service

• Chairperson of the AHO

• Deputy Mayor of Eurobodalla Shire Council

• Chairperson of the Umbarra Regional Council (ATSIC).

• Board of Campbell Page Ltd

• Board Chair of the Southern Area Health Services Board

• Director for Aboriginal Hostels Ltd

• Board Member of the Batemans Bay LALC


Brendan Moyle, Director & Co-Chairperson

Brendan’s current position is as Branch Manager Delivery – Operational Policy, Department of Social Services. He is responsible for leading the development of strategic operational policies that supports the delivery of DSS funded services and programs through the Department’s national network. Brendan is a member (Aboriginal Economic Development Advisory Committee – NSW Aboriginal Land Council).

His previous experiences include General Manager Operations (Aboriginal Hostels Limited), Senior Adviser Indigenous Organisational Capability Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Brendan was responsible for the development of policy frameworks and a national strategy for strengthening the capability of Indigenous organisations. Director Indigenous Leadership and Governance Frameworks (Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs) and Branch Manager Governance (Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations).


James Allen, Director

Jim is the former Chairperson of Batemans Bay Local Aboriginal Land Council. He currently manages the Murra Mia Tenant Advice and Advocacy Service which assists tenants and communities with their dealings with landlords and the Consumer Traders and Tenancy Tribunal. Jim has been an active member of the Housing Appeals Committee (HAC). Jim was a strong advocate of Aboriginal Housing Providers as a Director of the NSW Aboriginal Housing Office Board. Jim has a passion to represent the needs of the disadvantaged and is a voice for people in need, whatever your background or social standing. He has a passion for social justice and gives a voice to the marginalised.


Anne Greenaway, Director

Anne is a proud Aboriginal woman (traditionally from Taree) who has lived and worked in the local communities on the Far South Coast for the last 19 years. She plans to continue to live and work in the local community after she retires from full-time work. She is a great Grandmother 4 times over. Over 25 years’ experience in Aboriginal Community Controlled Health and Housing as well as active participation and representation on a wide range of Aboriginal Issues. Qualifications include Bachelor of Arts, Masters of Letters (History), Diploma of Business (Management), Certificate IV Governance, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment.

Experience includes:

• Board Member SEARMS (5 years)

• Chief Executive Officer, Merrimans Local Aboriginal Land Council (6 years)

• Director AH&MRC (NSW Aboriginal Health Peak organisation for over 15 years)

• Deputy Chair, Katungul ACC & MS

Previous Chief Executive Officer (and Board Member), Katungul Aboriginal Corporation Community & Medical Services and South Coast Medical Service Aboriginal Corporation, Board member Oolong House, Nowra and Manager Moruya Women’s Refuge


Cheryl Moreton, Director

Cheryl commenced worked in 1986 with the NSW Aboriginal Land Council (initially Far South Coast Regional Aboriginal Land Council) I was made redundant in 2004. Continued to work in various Aboriginal community organisation.

  • Currently studying – Certificate IV in Business
  • Completed Certificate IV in Training and Assessment TAE40110

Cheryl is currently:

  • Chairperson of Bodalla Local Aboriginal Land Council,
  • Director with the Bodalla Aboriginal Housing Company,
  • Board member of the Regional Aboriginal Housing Committee (RAHC)
  • Chief Executive Officer of Wagonga Local Aboriginal Land Council


Roslyn Field, Director

Roslyn Field nee Ella is a proud Walbunja/Yuin Elder who has spent most of her life living and working in Sydney. Ros spent her early working career as an infants school  teacher, then worked for 22 years in the Aboriginal education, training, and employment portfolio as a senior manager in the Australian Public Service, for which she was awarded a public service medal. Ros retired as the NSW Director of Indigenous Education for the Department of Education, Science and Training in 2007. After spending 12 months at home looking after her family (four children and one grandson), pets and garden, she was persuaded to work for three months as the CEO at the La Perouse Local Aboriginal Land Council; this turned into 3 action-packed years. In August 2011 she took up the position of Joint Management Coordinator with the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) in Narooma, and has only just retired from this position.


Ros has dedicated her entire working career trying to make a difference for Koori and Murri people around the state. Community development and capacity building, plus better education, training and employment opportunities will lead to increased socio-economic independence and better outcomes for Aboriginal people. Having grown up in a severely overcrowded substandard house, and knowing the impact this had on her schooling, Ros has decided to focus her time, energy and commitment to this important area through her membership on the SEARMS Board.